Meet Instructor Tom Carr

by Tom Carr

Instructor Tom Carr

Hello, I’m Tom Carr. I began diving in 1984 and became a Divemaster in 1986. I became a dive instructor in 1991. I currently hold instructor certifications with 3 diving agencies and specialty instructor certifications for many courses including deep diving, wreck diving, nitrox diving, search and recovery, and public safety diving.

I joined the Riverside Sheriff’s Department in 1986 as a volunteer Public Safety Diver and am still active as an instructor with their Underwater Search & Recovery Team. Our team is responsible for all underwater investigations and recoveries in the county. I currently hold the rank of Reserve Captain in the department.

I’ve instructed First Aid and CPR courses since 1977. I currently instruct courses for the American Heart Association and the Divers Alert Network. I hold certifications as an Emergency Medical Technician in Riverside County and as a National Registry EMT. I am a certified Diver Medical Technician and an associate member of the Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society.  I currently instruct First Aid and CPR at the Riverside Sheriff’s Academy.

I’ve been certified in equipment inspection repair by several major dive equipment manufacturers including Atomic, Oceanic, Highly Optimized Gear, Ocean Technology Systems and Professional Scuba Inspectors.

I have been a volunteer crew member at the USC Catalina Hyperbaric Chamber since 2005 and currently act as a crew supervisor there. The chamber treats diving accident victims from the Southern California area. Being on the chamber crew has been an incredible learning experience in the management and treatment of diving accidents for me.

I joined the diving program at USC a few years ago, occasionally assisting with repair work or assisting the scientific divers with projects underwater at the USC Wrigley Institute for Environmental Studies on Catalina.

When I was asked to assist with the Guam and Palau program in 2010, I jumped at the chance! It’s been a great experience for me to be able to help introduce the students to the marine environment and help them develop as divers.  Watching them develop from the sometimes awkward first dives through the mastery of their basic skills and then progressing to the scientific diver level has been very rewarding.  One of the best rewards for me has been the looks of awe on the students’ faces after their first encounters with marine life.

It’s been fun this year working with the students and I’m eagerly looking forward to traveling with the group to Guam and Palau!

This entry was posted in USC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

